Friday, August 14, 2009

Please call today to support for S1584 and HR3017

Florida has 25 Congressional Representatives and 2 Senators. Well, one Senator, as Republican Senator Mel Martinez has announced his resignation. According to the Herald Tribune, Gov. Charlie Crist, who announced in May his intention to run for that Senate seat, has put together a list of possible replacements, but they must agree not to run against Crist. One of his possible replacements has already turned him down, and it looks like we won't see a replacement until the Senate session resumes in September.

So that leaves Senator Bill Nelson (the second sitting Congressmember to fly in space), and three of Florida's 25 House Representatives whose votes are in play.

Please call them today to ask for their support for S1584 and HR3017. Facts and contact below.


Sen. Bill Nelson is a Democrat, and usually good on LGBT issues, but his office has indicated that he was undecided as of the middle of July, and we've heard nothing different as yet. Call him at 850-942-8415 to support S1584.

Rep. Alan Boyd, a Democrat, voted yes on hate crimes bills in 07 and 09, but he abstained on ENDA in 2007. He has not yet given out his position on HR3017. Call him at 850-561-3979 to support HR 3017.

Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart is a staunch Republican on social issues, but he is a fair-minded one when it comes to jobs, voting for ENDA in 07. He voted yes on hate crimes bills in 07 and 09. But he apparently hasn't made his decision on ENDA this year yet. Call him at 305-225-6866 to support HR 3017.

Rep. Lincoln Diaz-Balart, a Republican like his brother Mario, also voted yes on hate crimes bills in 07 and 09; and yes on ENDA in 2007. He also has not yet indicated his position. Call him at 305-470-8555 to support HR 3017.

Here are the positions of the other Florida Representatives, as reported on the Inclusive ENDA House spreadsheet (more info about each on that site):

Confirmed yes votes:
Alan Grayson
Kathy Castor
Kendrick B. Meek
Ileana Ros-Lehtinen
Robert Wexler
Debbie Wasserman Schultz
Ron Klein
Alcee L. Hastings

Probable yes votes:
Corrine Brown
Suzanne M. Kosmas

Probable no votes:
Jeff Miller
Ander Crenshaw
Ginny Brown-Waite
Cliff Stearns
John L. Mica
Gus M. Bilirakis
C. W. Bill Young
Adam H. Putnam
Vern Buchanan
Connie Mack
Bill Posey
Thomas J. Rooney

For contact info of these Representatives, click here.

Please tell us if you contact any of them. you can email directly.


Listen to my news Podcast
Visit My Social Media Blog
Visit me on twitter
Visit Me On Face Book
My Biz on Twitter

No comments: